Revolutionary Love is Universal Love

Screen Shot 2018-04-17 at 10.43.57 AM

Do I feel affection towards all people? Truthfully, no. But I know I can love all people even if that’s the case. After all, love isn’t just a feeling – it’s an action, a commitment. To love through political means is a way to love even when I don’t feel like it. I can love all people through building a revolutionary movement. I can love all people by spreading class consciousness. I can love all people through direct actions. Protesting. Sabotaging. Creating systems of mutual aid. Making the state irrelevant. This love is one that transforms and/or dismantles systems that affects all people.

Political love, revolutionary love, is what Jesus had on the cross, dying in the place of the insurrectionist Barabbas and with his blood planting the seeds for an apocalyptic movement.

To love is to recognize and appreciate the humanity (and therefore, the divinity) of others. Our political action may restrain others, it may not make them necessarily “feel good” (especially the rich and privileged) but even this is love. This is humanizing them. This is calling them into their humanity, toward God in them, into theosis.

Leave a comment